SEC Academic Leadership Development Program

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP) seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. It has three components, a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants (i.e., fellows); two SEC-wide three-day workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants; and a competitive fellowship designed to provide administrative growth opportunities for former fellows. 

Since its creation in 2008, more than 300 faculty and academic administrators have completed the SEC ALDP, and program alumni have become deans and provosts, among other senior-level positions, at universities around the SEC and country.

Click here to view the SEC ALDP Vision, Mission, Goals, and Mantra 


2023-2024 SEC ALDP LSU Fellows

view full list of lsu sec aldp fellows

Four LSU faculty members were selected to participate in the SEC 2023-24 Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP) Fellowship.

headshot of Inessa Bazayev

Inessa Bazayev

Inessa Bazayev

Paula G. Manship Professor of Music Theory
President, LSU Faculty Senate

Inessa Bazayev is the Paula G. Manship Professor of Music Theory in the College of Music & Dramatic Arts and the President of the LSU Faculty Senate. Her research focuses on Russian and Soviet music and related topics. Shortly after her arrival at LSU, Bazayev founded the Music Forum Series, which features the scholarship of music faculty and students. The series grew to include invited scholars beyond LSU and Bazayev remained director for 10 years. Bazayev has directed two international symposia - Stravinsky in America (2022) and Prokofiev and the Russian Tradition (2016). In addition, she served as Music Theory Area Chair from 2019-2022. In 2022, she was elected to serve as the President of the LSU Faculty Senate, and was re-elected for another term in 2023. 


headshot of Robb Brumfield

Robb Brumfield

Robb Brumfield

Roy Paul Daniels Professor of Biological Sciences
Associate Dean for Research & Administration, College of Science

Robb Brumfield is the Roy Paul Daniels Professor of Biological Sciences and the Associate Dean for Research & Administration in the College of Science. As Associate Dean, Brumfield assists the Dean with research, administrative and personnel activity, as well as operational oversight, strategic planning, capital projects, and development.  Brumfield previously served as the Director of the Museum of Natural Science from 2013-2019, where he oversaw all museum operations including budget, personnel, infrastructure, growth, strategic planning, outreach, and development. From 2012-2013, Brumfield was a Program Director for the National Science Foundation where he was responsible for balancing a $29M budget, administering the grant review process, and making awards.


headshot of Laura Choate

Laura Choate

Laura Choate

Jo Ellen Levy Yates Endowed Professor
Director, Lutrill & Pearl Payne School of Education

Laura Choate is the Jo Ellen Levy Yates Endowed Professor and Director of the Lutrill & Pearl Payne School of Education. Her research interests include girls’ and women’s mental health, including depression and eating disorders. She was awarded the 2016 LSU Distinguished Faculty Award, 2014 College of Human Sciences & Education Distinguished Research Award and the 2012 ACA Best Practices Award. She served for 10 years on the board of the Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners. Choate served as the College of Human Sciences and Education’s Acting Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Services in 2021-22, the Interim Director of the School of Education starting in July of 2022, and assumed the Director role starting in April of 2023. As director, Choate oversees all academic programs - undergraduate, graduate and online - in the school. 


headshot of Graça Vicente

Graça Vicente

Graça Vicente

Boyd Professor
Charles H. Barré Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Special Assistant to the Vice President for Research & Economic Development

Graça Vicente is a Boyd Professor, and the Charles H. Barré Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at LSU. Since June 2020, Dr. Vicente has been serving as a Special Assistant to the Vice President for Research and Economic Development. From 2007-2019, Vicente was the Director for the NIH Initiative for Maximizing Student Development (IMSD) Institutional Program, and is currently Director for the NIH Maximizing Access to Research Careers (MARC) Institutional Program. These programs provide research training, educational and academic development, mentorship, and career opportunities for underrepresented LSU students in the biomedical and behavioral sciences. Vicente received a 2016 NSF Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring.