The LSU College of Agriculture celebrates the outstanding achievements of the spring class of 2024

May 27, 2024

Student holding diploma

Spring Class of 2024 Graduates.

– Photo by Annabelle Lang.

On Friday, May 17, 2024, the LSU College of Agriculture awarded 272 degrees during the spring commencement ceremony. Among the graduates were 246 recipients of bachelor's degrees, 19 recipients of master's degrees and 7 recipients of doctorates.

The spring class of 2024 is composed of students from 38 Louisiana parishes, 18 states and 11 countries.

Over 90% of those graduates began their college journeys as freshmen at LSU, and most started their academic pursuits in the 2020-2021 school year. The youngest undergraduate was 20 years old, and our most seasoned undergraduate was 46 years old. Of the undergraduate class, 72% were female with an average age in the early twenties.

The college recognized the graduates for their outstanding academic performance and the array of honors and distinctions they earned.

spring 2024 graduation

Class of 2024 tossing caps 

– Photo by Annabelle Lang

The University Medal is awarded to students graduating with the highest-grade point average. Three undergraduates within the College of Agriculture received the University medal: Marie-Pasclae Delahoussaye, majoring in Natural Resource Ecology & Management from New Orleans, LA; Sophie Stine, majoring in Animal Sciences from Lake Charles, LA; and Emma Vines, majoring in Agricultural & Extension Education from Winnfield, LA.

Upper Division Honors is awarded to students that have written and defended an honors thesis and completed a program of course work specified by the Ogden Honors College and their departments. In this regard, three students within the College of Agriculture were recognized: Michaela Minge with the guidance of her Thesis Director, Dr. Michael Mamp; Chloe Caroline Johnson guided by her Thesis Director, Dr. Cathleen Williams; and Lucas William Rot guided by his Thesis Director, Dr. Phil Stouffer.

The LSU Distinguished Communicator program recognizes self-motivated undergraduates who want to enhance their communication skills and excel in their chosen professions. Students who successfully achieve this unique distinction are recognized with a medal at graduation and receive a permanent commendation on their official transcripts, giving them significant leverage in today’s job market. Four graduates in the College of Agriculture have earned this accomplishment: Courtney Baker with Dr. Erin McKinley as her advisor; Sophia Discua Romero advised by Professor Judy Myhand; Margaret Painter advised by Dr. Erin McKinley; and Reetu Shrestha advised by Dr. Jiaqi Tan.  

LSU Distinguished Undergraduate Researcher Designation recognizes outstanding undergraduates who participate in educational and research activities leading to a public presentation or publication of a faculty mentored scholarly project. Three graduates from the College of Agriculture have earned this designation: Tarun Kakarala- Natural Resource Ecology and Management with mentor, Dr. Juliet Brophy; Sophie Kate LeBlanc- Animal Sciences with mentor, Dr. Constantine Simintiras; and Reetu Shrestha- Nutrition and Food Sciences with mentor, Dr. Jiaqi Tan.  

The Engaged Citizen Program was established by The Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership with LSU Campus Life. This program seeks to support and recognize the accomplishments of undergraduate students who contributed significantly with their communities to address critical needs. Within the College of Agriculture, two Animal Sciences graduates were recognized: Saylor Higgins and Shadayah Muhammad.

Every year LSU recognizes twelve outstanding seniors from the graduating class as the Tiger Twelve. These graduates contribute positively to campus life and the surrounding community. Out of the entire class of senior applicants throughout LSU, the College of Agriculture was represented by Zachary Bonser from Tyrone, Georgia, receiving his bachelor’s in Agricultural and Extension Education.

The College of Agriculture also recognizes Les Voyageurs, a select group of student ambassadors that aid in student recruitment and alumni engagement efforts. Seven graduates were recognized for one or more years of service as a Les Voyageur: Zachary Bonser, Olivia Heeg, Sophia Discua Romero, Sophie LeBlanc, Jacob Mills, Jonas Walker and Savannah Rioux.

Congratulations to all the College of Agriculture graduates!